2019 Pangeo Community Meeting

The 2019 Pangeo Community Meeting will take place 21-23 August 2019 at the University of Washington in Seattle, WA.

This year’s meeting will include a combination of plenary presentations, working group breakouts, and unstructured time for collaboration and hands on development.

Meeting Details

  • Dates: 21-23 August 2019

  • Location: Alder Hall, Room 107, University of Washington campus

  • Registration: Registration is now closed.

  • Remote Participation: Plenary sessions will be live streamed via Zoom. Remote participation for the sprints is also encouraged and will be coordinated via GitHub and Gitter during the meeting.
    • Day 1 live stream: Click here (new Zoom link)

    • Day 2 live stream: Click here (new Zoom link)

Code of Conduct

Pangeo values the safety and security of all of our members and, because of that, we will not tolerate any form of harassment or discrimination. All participants are expected to follow the Pangeo code of conduct.

Travel and Lodging Details

We’ll post more details soon but here are a few quick pointers if you’re eager to schedule travel.




Tools Talks

Lightning Talks


The meeting will start at 9 AM on August 21st and will wrap up around 4 PM on August 23rd. The final agenda is embedded below.


  1. Shima Abadi, University of Washington

  2. Ryan Abernathey, Columbia University

  3. Mattia Almansi, Johns Hopkins University

  4. Anthony Arendt, University of Washington

  5. Philip Austin, University of British Columbia

  6. Shannon Axelrod, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative

  7. Norman Barker, TileDB

  8. Anderson Banihirwe, National Center for Atmospheric Research

  9. Aimee Barciauskas, Development Seed

  10. Will Barnes, Bay Area Environmental Research Institute / Lockheed Martin Solar and Astrophysics Laboratory

  11. Charles Becker, Boise State University

  12. Karan Bhatia, Google

  13. Sarah Bird, Mozilla

  14. Scott Black, Utah State University

  15. Charles Blackmon-Luca, Columbia University

  16. Noah Brenowitz, University of Washington

  17. Deepak Cherian, National Center for Atmospheric Research

  18. Shreyas Cholia, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory

  19. Tim Crone, Columbia University

  20. Erin Dougherty, Colorado State University

  21. Rob Fatland, University of Washington

  22. Filipe Fernandes, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration / Integrated Ocean Observing System

  23. Chelle Gentemann, Earth and Space Research

  24. Joe Hamman, National Center for Atmospheric Research

  25. Matthew Hanson, Element 84

  26. Kirstie Haynie, United States Geological Survey

  27. Lindsey Heagy, University of California Berkeley

  28. Kate Hedstrom, University of Alaska Fairbanks

  29. Scott Henderson, University of Washington

  30. Chris Holdgraf, University of California Berkeley

  31. Stephan Hoyer, Google

  32. Spencer Jones, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory

  33. Kevin Jorissen, Amazon Web Services

  34. Julia Kent, National Center for Atmospheric Research

  35. Friedrich Knuth, University of Washington

  36. Luke Madaus, Jupiter

  37. Rodrigo Manzanas, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

  38. Brian Mapes, University of Miami

  39. Elizabeth Maroon, National Center for Atmospheric Research

  40. Robin Matthews, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

  41. Jacob Matuskey, Space Telescope Science Institute

  42. Jeremy McGibbon, University of Washington

  43. Thomas Moore, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

  44. James Munroe, Memorial University of Newfoundland

  45. Dan Nowacki, United States Geological Survey

  46. Yuvi Panda, Project Jupyter

  47. Kevin Paul, National Center for Atmospheric Research

  48. Walter Perkins, University of Washington

  49. Matthew Rocklin, NVIDIA

  50. Ariel Rokem, The University of Washington

  51. Mary Romelfanger, Space Telescope Science Institute

  52. Daniel Rothenberg, ClimaCell

  53. Jeffrey Sadler, US Geological Survey

  54. Hillary Scannell, University of Washington

  55. David Shean, University of Washington

  56. Julia Signell, Anaconda

  57. Nicholas Sofroniew, Chan Zuckerberg Initiative

  58. Dax Soule, CUNY - Queens College

  59. Dougie Squire, Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation

  60. Steven Stetzler, University of Washington

  61. Jason Suwala, Hatfield Consultants

  62. Amanda Tan, University of Washington

  63. Dan Wessels, Mesosphere

  64. Siyu Yang, Microsoft AI for Earth

  65. Jiawei Zhuang, Harvard University